Universal Declaration of Human Rights

PDF version for the language Bhujel (Gharti) *
*Disclaimer: OHCHR is not responsible for the
contents of external links.

Bhujel (Gharti)

Source: Indigenous Media Foundation (Nepal)


Native Name

Total Speakers
119,000 (2011)

Usage By Country
Nepal, India

Bhujels (Ghartis) are inhabitants of Bhuji-Khola area in Baglung district. Bhujels have four sub-caste groups — Bhjyal, Gharti, Nisel and Khawas. They are now scattered in Morang, Rukum, Tanahun, Gorkha, Chitwan, Nawalparasi districts and so forth. They have a close cultural affinity with Magar indigenous community. In terms of language, they are closer to Chepang indigenous community. Bhujel's language belongs to Tibeto-Burman language family. They have two linguistic groups: Bhujel Bhasa and Bhujel Kham. Bhujel Bhasa is spoken in Chitwan, Gorkha and Tanahun districts and Bhujel Kham is spoken in Dhorpatan area. According to the 2011 census, only 9 percent of Bhujels (around 10,358) now speak their mother tongues. Besides Nepal, Bhujel language is also spoken in Sikkim of India.

Received 8/24/2015
Posted 8/31/2015
Checked 8/24/2015