38th Meeting of States parties (New York, 15 June 2020)


The Human Rights Committee is composed of 18 independent experts, who are persons of high moral character and recognised competence in the field of human rights, consideration being given to the usefulness of the participation of some persons having legal experience (article 28, ICCPR).

Members are elected for a term of four years by States parties from among their nationals, consideration being given to equitable geographical distribution and to representation of the different forms of civilization as well as of the principal legal systems, in accordance with article 31 of the Covenant. Members serve in their personal capacity and may be re-elected if re-nominated.

States parties are informed that there will be two elections during the thirty-eighth meeting of States parties, scheduled to take place in New York (Conference Building Room 3) on 15 June 2020 at 10 am.
Postponed. CONFIRMED. New date to Thursday 17 September 2020 (10:00-13:00 and 15:00-18:00) through an in-person meeting at the United Nations General Assembly Hall, New York.

1. Regular Election: to elect nine members of the Human Rights Committee, to replace those whose terms are due to expire on 31 December 2020.

2. By-Election: to conduct one by-election to fill a casual vacancy arising from the resignation of a member of the Human Rights Committee on 31 December 2019.


Pursuant to article 30, paragraph 4 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the necessary quorum for the meeting is two-thirds of the 173 States Parties to the Covenant, that is to say 115 States Parties. To avoid the meeting being substantially delayed or postponed, representatives of States Parties should be present at the scheduled time of the meeting.


In accordance with Rule 2 of the Revised Rules of Procedures of the Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the credentials of representatives and the names of members of a delegation issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs should be submitted to the Secretary-General prior to the Meeting. The credentials may be brought to the Meeting or sent in advance to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights in New York (for the attention of Mr Nenad Vasic,, S-3151).

Nomination of candidates by States parties

States parties to the Covenant are invited to nominate their candidates by Monday, 30 March 2020. Nominations should be sent to the Secretariat at the following email addresses: and

General Information



Membership of the Committee

Note verbale from the Secretary General to the State Parties to the International Convention on Civil and Political Rights
Note verbale from the Secretary General to the State Parties to the International Convention on Civil and Political Rights inviting credentials of its representative E
Annex 2 and Annex 4
Biographical Data Form (Annex III) E F S
GA resolution A/RES/68/268: Strengthening and enhancing the effective functioning of the human rights treaty body system A C E F R S
Provisional Agenda CCPR/SP/92
List of candidates CCPR/SP/93
List of candidates, Addendum CCPR/SP/93/Add.1 E Advance Unedited Version
Revised Rules of Procedure of the Meeting of the States Parties to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights - CCPR/SP/2/Rev.1 E F R S

List of candidates as submitted by the States parties within the deadline of 30 March 2020:

Name of Candidate


Submission Date

(Regular Election) ELECTED
Spain28 March 2019
Mr. Khalifa Yusuf Ahmed AL KAABI
English | Arabic
(Regular Election)
(Candidature Withdrawn on 17 April 2020)
3 May 2019
Mr. Changrok SOH
(Regular Election) ELECTED
Republic of Korea31 July 2019
Mr. Bamariam KOITA
(Regular Election)
Mauritania8 November 2019
Mr. Imeru Tamerat YIGEZU
(Regular Election) ELECTED
Ethiopia27 December 2019
Mr. Mahjoub EL HAIBA
English | French
(Regular Election) ELECTED
Morocco13 January 2020
Mr. José Manuel SANTOS PAIS
(Regular Election) ELECTED
Portugal16 January 2020
Ms. Tania María ABDO ROCHOLL
English | Spanish
(Regular Election) ELECTED
23 January 2020
Ms. Wafaa Ashraf Moharram BASSIM
(Regular Election) ELECTED
25 January 2020
Mr. Rainer HOFMANN
(Regular Election)
4 March 2020
English | French
(Regular Election) ELECTED
20 March 2020
Mr. David H. MOORE
Arabic | English | French | Russian | Spanish
(Regular and By-election) ELECTED (By-election)
United States of America
23 March 2020
Ms. Esra Gül Dardağan KIBAR
(Regular Election)
23 March 2020
Ms. Tijana SURLAN
(Regular and By-election)
25 March 2020
Mr. Alfred Fusi SUH
English | French
(Regular Election)
(Candidature Withdrawn on 14 September 2020)
30 March 2020
Candidature submitted after the deadline of 30 March 2020 (see CCPR/SP/93/Add.1)
Ms. Marcia V.J. Kran
(Regular Election) ELECTED
31 March 2020

Country-specific information